And What Do You See?


Jeremiah 1:11

Moreover the word of the Lord came unto me, saying, “Jeremiah, what seest thou?” And I said, “I see a rod of an almond tree.”

And this is why as a prophet, I would suck.  For where the prophet Jeremiah saw the branch of an almond tree, ignoring all of the wickedness in the city beyond him, I would have concentrated on all that I had seen.

For if someone were to ask me what it is that I see, I would tell them…

I see fatherless children, and drugs, and lack of morals.  I see a godless society all over the world, and death and suffering and guns, and planes and cannons and poisons and propaganda and worthless wisdom.

Moreover, I see a stiff-neck people who believe their answers are greater than God’s.  I see poverty and despair and dejection and rejection and false answers and false gods.

I see money and division and strife and hopelessness and despair and robbery and mayhem and drive-by-s and angry fists.

I see the imprisoned and the divorced and the homeless and the graveyard—all those expecting the resupply of those of whom are killed and who are yet unborn.

I hear noise and music and false prophets and empty words, empty sermons, empty souls reaching out to dead men’s bones.

I hear the false cry of victory of pride of wealth and of accomplishment.  And witness children demanding rot and the wilt of any of the material ‘things’ which can’t promise anything at all.

And in spite of all of these things, I see Jesus with outstretched hands.  I see His children, His church, His actions and deeds and too, I see hope and redemption.  But I also see all of these things, not in this world, but in the world to come.

One thought on “And What Do You See?

Leave a Reply

