Magical Fingers (Courageous Keyboards)


With the advent of personal computers and the internet, many have taken to social media, commentaries and various blogs and web sites.

Strong social messages have accommodated these instruments of communication—so much so, one can find almost any position either supporting or opposing one’s own point of view.

Within these messages are ‘brave’ ‘bold’ assertions—assertions so courageously announced a crowd would never witness someone doing this in person to one’s face.

Yes, we are bold and gutsy.  We are dynamite in words and often hide beyond the faceless keyboard, blasting away at one juncture or another and in favor of others.

Often, this is the case of the Christian, one way or another.  We see Christians such as myself making affable affirmations, affirmations probably not experience in the here and now, in person.

It is easy to be brave behind a keyboard.  Easy to announce, to denounce, detest, affirm or bind when the only requirement is that we pounce upon words insisting our point of view is the correct point of view and at other times, insisting our view is the only approach existing.

So then, we examine one form of witnessing and that is by the written word.

Unfortunately, this is usually where witness begins and ends.

We leave out the true witnessing, the witness that counts.

We should see all of our words in living colors by:

Our relations with our family

Our relations with our brothers and sisters

Relations, interactions with the church as a corporate entity

Our Witness as we perform our jobs to the Glory of God

Our witness as we speak and interact with the homeless, imprisoned, orphans, widows, sick, the hungry, poor and afflicted.

So then, in our true interaction with all the facets of our witness, we see not only our hypocrisy, but the lack of real engagement with most of the groups we are called to witness.

Yes, we are brave, filled with courage behind the keyboard, but it will not be the keyboard that provides to those who so desperately need it.

It will only be the concern, the hard work, the personal involvement of people like you and me who bother to reach out to all those people who are the least of them in our totality of witnessing.  In the end, the keyboard is at the bottom of the list for our courageous keyboard is a coward.

 

2 thoughts on “Magical Fingers (Courageous Keyboards)

  1. Speaking of opinions… like butt holes, I have at least one.

    As I started reading your post, I wondered if I have kept up with my own opinions. Perhaps I contradict myself… Almost all truly thoughtful people must face this at some point, probably more than once. And of course, if I was being a jerk when I expressed my first opinion, only to be a jerk when I expressed another that contradicted the first, then I have at least two butt holes from which I spew my mess into the blog-O-sphere!

    Put me in a freak show!

    And you are right, of course. It is easy to be brave in anonymity. Much harder in person. And then very tricky to be both assertively brave in person AND manage to maintain friendly relations with those among whom I differ.

    I went out on the streets a couple days ago and found some folx that I might join in ministry to the poor and homeless, yet both expressed their alternative sexual orientations (something I find sinful, but not outside the GRACE of God), AND one of them was quite the religious pluralist too.

    I believe in grace for alternative sexual orientations, but I cannot then proclaim them as “good” or “right”. This is a tricky matter. Ripe for offense! And then the pluralism business… for the first time in my street ministry, I opted not to pray WITH this person. I was able to quietly assume this without raising objection.

    And I am wondering how to confront this issue even now. I managed not to in that first meeting, but I doubt that I can, and whether I even should, in follow up meetings.

    Oh.. how to be wise as a viper and innocent as a dove!!!!

    Meanwhile I am praying about it.

    Thanx for this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just as we would embrace the divorced. We look beyond the sin and examine the person: always bringing that person’s soul in light of Jesus who is the ultimate judge. Thank you as always for your post and yes, to be all things to all people, unlike Paul, is impossible–for me at least.

      Like

Leave a Reply

