Drive- by Christians


Luke 10:29-37

 29 But he wanted to justify himself, so he asked Jesus, “And who is my neighbor?”

30 In reply Jesus said: “A man was going down from Jerusalem to Jericho, when he was attacked by robbers. They stripped him of his clothes, beat him and went away, leaving him half dead. 31 A priest happened to be going down the same road, and when he saw the man, he passed by on the other side. 32 So too, a Levite, when he came to the place and saw him, passed by on the other side. 33 But a Samaritan, as he traveled, came where the man was; and when he saw him, he took pity on him. 34 He went to him and bandaged his wounds, pouring on oil and wine. Then he put the man on his own donkey, brought him to an inn and took care of him. 35 The next day he took out two denarii[c] and gave them to the innkeeper. ‘Look after him,’ he said, ‘and when I return, I will reimburse you for any extra expense you may have.’

36 “Which of these three do you think was a neighbor to the man who fell into the hands of robbers?”

37 The expert in the law replied, “The one who had mercy on him.”

Jesus told him, “Go and do likewise.”

In drive-byes, the resultant product is mayhem, suffering, death, revenge, grief and generally even more hostilities.

A major consequent of a Christian driving by the extremely poor and homeless is the same.  This is real, genuine suffering we are speaking about with the eventual death of the victim.  In driving by in our autos and boosted up with our Bluetooth, cell phones, and air conditioning, our experience in opulence does nothing for those who are in such desperate need.

For the woman we glimpse at shifting through the garbage cans:  that listless woman, that no-account is someone’s mother.  More than likely that useless bum, that man is probably a father and a military veteran.

And so then, what is it that I seek?  Do I ask you to give all these people a house, to put them into your homes? No, that is not my request.  My request is for the Christian to treat these people with compassion, with love and to stop:  to get to know them and assess their needs as our Lord, Jesus as instructed us to do.

A drive-by performed either by bullets or by neglect produces the same effect.  The only difference is that with neglect, death is longer and prolonged suffering.  I pray for the day when people fail to walk or ride by us wistfully, but instead stop and know who we are as brothers and as children of God—All of whom Christians claim that they are.

8 thoughts on “Drive- by Christians

  1. I love this post! A good analysis of what happens when Christians drive by. Utterly convicting. Timely.

    This is my kind of message. The only difference for me is that I am calling the Christians to put these people in their homes. I am not naïve, I know full well there are complications with that. But I feel sure the Body of Christ, if anyone on earth, can work out those details while not being scared off by the tremendous sacrifice it will involve.

    The Good Samaritan gets his good rep with Jesus because he funds the housing and healing of the man he finds hurting on the side of the road. If the church wants to outshine Samaritans, this is the bar that has been set.

    Thanx for sharing this word.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Agent X While I agree with you about putting them into our homes, I know this simply isn’t going to happen. thus, I would first enjoy the idea that the homeless were to be treated like Humans with compassion. thank you for your comments, as always.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sadly, if I were a betting man, I would bet you are exactly right in your critique. Your words are completely “realistic”, as we might say. Again, I am not naïve, I get it.

      However, as a prophetic spokesman, I am not at liberty to give any more oxygen to that kind of realism than that. I must critique it.

      I think behind this is an identity problem.

      Are we really the church? The Body of Christ? Or are we fooling ourselves about that?

      Do we know Jesus – really know him and trust him to empower the love we might give? Or do we think we must outsmart God with our worldly wisdom?

      To my mind, we either don’t really know him or we don’t really know ourselves (in him). And I am not sure it really matters which we decide is the locus of the exact problem. I figure if we clear one up, the other is automatically cleared up with it – and likely doesn’t matter which we start with.

      What would Jesus do? What does this story in Luke depict? What exactly is he saying? – Take the easy sacrifice??? Help the guy as long as it doesn’t affect your budget too much??? As long as your savings account remains in tact? …as long as your retirement account remains in tact? … as long as your kids college fund remains in tact? …as long as you keep yourself safe in the process???

      That all sound really conservative and wise in a Republican kind of way, but it does not sound like Jesus on a mountain, in a boat, or walking a dusty Galilean trail to me. I cant think of a single instance he gives any of that the slightest pass.

      Of course I am aware that approximately 100% of your readers will not do any of that. Even if they take the name of Jesus and decorate their bumpers, their coffee mugs, and even their coffee tables, tee shirts, and blogs with that name, they will almost certainly not decorate their love for the poor with it. And so, even a little is better than nothing…

      I guess…

      I hope that is not the verdict on American Christianity in the Great Judgment to come.

      Like

      1. Agent X. i have to respond to this. There were times when the Apostles messed up, fell short, but were still apostles. Part of this, I think involves the learning curve. The other part is that it ALL involves supernatural assistance as it is ALL contrary to our given nature. I’m not making excuses as it is what it is: but most are on milk when they should be on meat. I think it is as simple as that.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. http://www.news4jax.com/news/family-asking-for-help-finding-missing-dog-after-fatal-crash

        Okay, attempt to access this if you will; It makes my stomach churn, wanting to barf. Here is the part that disturbs me.
        “That dog is their baby. She needs to come home,” Gallagher said through tears by phone Monday morning. “My sister needs her.”
        This is where ANIMALS are more important than people. If one doubts me, then look at the BILLION dollar industry for pet products. This is all bothersome to me as a Christian.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Fair enough. Again, your words make sense. I will concede somewhat of a paradox here. I am aware that God has grace for our shortcomings and it begins with the Apostles themselves. And that fits very well with the realistic view you represent here.

      Nevertheless, I will champion perfection and critique any aim at less.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. WOW! I love homeless people, and stop to help them often, but I find myself under conviction for not sharing Jesus with them every time! Giving them money or food or even treating them with dignity is not enough…they need Jesus, just like we all do in whatever state we find ourselves in this life! I would like to share this post…ok with you? Thank you reminding me of the MOST important thing to offer anyone…Jesus! -anita

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

